Chocolate Brownie Mince Pies

I don’t know about you but one of my favourite things about Christmas is all of the yummy treats there are around – both store bought and homemade. I have been seeing so many different things around this year, but one thing that really caught my eye was this recipe from Sainsbury’s Magazine for Brownie Mince Pies.
I have to admit; as soon as I saw the name I was intrigued – the thought of gooey chocolatey brownie mixed with all of the goodness of mince pies and perfectly baked pastry?! We had had so many awesome ‘hybrid’ foods like the Cronut…so why not do the same with mince pies?!
So, after going on about how much I wanted to try this for about 4 weeks, I finally got round to making them this weekend…and they were definitely worth the wait! The recipe does make quite a few but I promise they won’t go to waste.
As my last few attempts at brownies haven’t gone to well (cracked glass bowls and exploding ovens being the least of my problems) I decided to take the slightly easier option and buy ready-made pastry. I actually managed to find this in Aldi (I think it is part of their Christmas range) and it was surprisingly effective and cheap! I will be very disappointed if they don’t keep this in stock after the New Year!
A standard pack of pastry from Aldi made 14 mince pies, with a bit of brownie mixture left over. I assume if you make the pastry from the recipe you won’t have that problem. I just poured the left over mixture into a tart tin and baked it as a normal brownie – it tasted just like Christmas pudding!
I know a lot of people will think that its sacrilege messing with the traditional mince pie but personally I love a bit of experimentation. And for those of you who don’t really like mince pies (my other half included) these can be a good middle ground.
I decided not to add the frosting decoration as I took this into work as a bit of a Christmas treat for my colleagues and I was concerned about how they would travel. Instead I just have them a dusting if icing sugar and they went down really well…even if they were a bit dubious to begin with.
Safe to say these may become a new Christmas tradition.

Merry Christmas!

Sadly no pics of my own version but here is what they should look like according to the Sainsbury’s recipe image:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/710/72764082/files/2014/12/img_1268.jpg (photo from Sainsbury’s Magazine)

Leave a Reply

